3D Math in houdini

Hello everybody,

I studied the 3D math for computer graphics lessons and I also studied the Matrix Math on the odwiki.

I understand how to compute dot product, cross product and how to normalize vectors. Also matrix multiplication, identity, etc. You get the picture.

My question is, when will I use this mathematics in Houdini? Other than shader writing is there any other use of this math?

Maybe the material is still new to me that me not understand how to use it. Is it possible that maybe you guys give me ideas on when I use this math? Keep in mind I am still noob to 3d so maybe that why I do not understand when I will use this mathematics.

On math website it says normalized vectors are in range -1 to 1 however in adv renderman book it says normalized vectors are in range 0 - 1. Which is correct?

TIA

My question is, when will I use this mathematics in Houdini? Other than shader writing is there any other use of this math?

You will probably come into a situation where you have some use for this type of math in everyday use of Houdini... but these cases willl be *rare*. That is not to say that familiarizing yourself with some of those concepts is a waste of time though. It helps a *great deal* to "know what's going on" when you use, say, a Slope CHOP.

That being said, the one place where you will *categorically* need to know/use that kind of math, is when writing shaders (shaders that are more involved than "plastic", that is). This is why the matrix, vector, spaces, etc. sections in the wiki are under "WritingShaders".

Maybe the material is still new to me that me not understand how to use it. Is it possible that maybe you guys give me ideas on when I use this math? Keep in mind I am still noob to 3d so maybe that why I do not understand when I will use this mathematics.