Rendering pyro Zdepth problem

Hi all,

I search here and on google first but didn't find anything, so sorry if i missed something...

(and i'm a real newbie in houdini and in render, so it didn't help !)

I'm trying to render the Zdepth of a smoke i did, with mantra PBR.

It kind of works when i uncheck Stochastic Transparency, because with it checked, it's full of white dots and artifacts.

I saw on an other post that i should use DCM, but i am trying to see if there is a way out to render it that way, as it seems to nearly work...

But there is one thing annoying me : my container is being rendered (as shown in the attached file).

If someone can enlighten me, i would highly appreciate, cause i'm really lost !

One other thing i saw is that it seems that in the Zdepth pass, the voxels are rendered flat (or full colored ?) and so there is this voxel pattern i don't see in the color pass.

Is it normal ?

Thanks for you time, and thanks a lot if somenone can answer me.

post-7471-0-61269200-1392214180_thumb.jp

• 1 year later...

Deep works seamlessly with Nuke. Where are you getting stuck?

I'm coming from a rigging/maya td background with minimal compositing and rendering experience.  The generalists/compers I'm working with have said they'd like to get deep RGB, depth, alpha, and opacity passes for my pyro fx.

I've tried using tutorials from past version of houdini for rendering depth passes, but houdini has changed a lot in the past couple of years, so I'm having difficulty finding relevant information on the subject.  I'll do some searches for deep renders using H14, but if you wouldn't mind explaining the deep rending workflow in case i get stuck that would be much appreciated.  Thank you!  

• Like 1

Cool. Here's a post where there is a zip file that contains everything you need for Deep in Houdini and Nuke IIRC

http://forums.odforce.net/topic/22236-help-me-about-smoke-obscurancematting/?hl=deep