pyro from moving Object

Swapniel16

Hello,

I am new in houdini and learning on my own. I was trying to emit fire and smoke from a sphere which is moving in Y direction. But after some frames, the container loses the geo and then nothing emits. The container follows the geo for 5 to 6 frames and then lose it.Can anyone please tell me what must be the issue??

Hello,

I am new in houdini and learning on my own. I was trying to emit fire and smoke from a sphere which is moving in Y direction. But after some frames, the container loses the geo and then nothing emits. The container follows the geo for 5 to 6 frames and then lose it.Can anyone please tell me what must be the issue??

By default the container size clamps to the initial size.

Go to resize_container node -> Max Bounds tab and uncheck clamp to maximum size.

Keep in mind that this will alow your container to grow huge.

• Like 1

@old School: I did that also. But after some frames the container was losing the geo. Even if I unchecked the clamped bounds, it was holding the geo for another 12-13 frames then losing it again. What I finally did was increasing the minimum and maximum substeps to 3. This way the container was holding the geo till the end without unchecking clamped bounds.

Edited by Swapniel16

If the object is moving really fast, sometimes it helps to use the tracking object tab at the resize node so that the center of the container tries to follow the object. You just have to be careful of not losing the smoke trail.

In some sims there may be additional fields that can help out with the resize logic.

The Gas Resize Fluid Dynamic DOP used to resize the containers can take more than one field to track.