The relationship between the concept of a shader, a material and VEX

odiwxe

Hi, I've recently started learning Houdini, I've been surprised by the depth Houdini has and the freedom it offers, mire than anything I've been amazed by the SHOP context, I've always liked to make stuff lol more realistic in the final render but as a beginner i've been feeling confused by the terms,i can't understand the cancept of the word shader,some one said it's the way a pixel gets rendered but doesn't the material and texture determine how a pixel is rendered either?so what does a shader do?how can i feel the shader?for material i can feel it by seeing that for example a clay materials looks like that,renders like that etc but how can i visually see the shader in action?i want to know:

1- what's a shader?

2- what's a material?

3- what's a texture?

4- what's VEX and VOPs?

5- and finally what's the relationship between them?after these all i want a book or tutorial you suggest for an in depth houdini learning

thank you

Edited by odiwxe

at the risk of oversimplifcation...

1- what's a shader?

a shader is an operation performed at render-time (typically for the current ray being rendered, but not always).  in houdini, there are a number of possible shaders: surface, displacement, lights, shadows, and others i can't remember off the top of my head.

2- what's a material?

in houdini, a material is a essentially a container for connecting a surface shader and a displacement shader for convenience purposes.

3- what's a texture?

in cg speak, a texture is an image (usually) that shaders use to assist in the shading process.  the most common use of textures is to project them onto your geometry and apply them as a color map.

4- what's VEX and VOPs?

vex is the custom language that shaders are written in.  vops is a graphical interface to assist in the creation of vex code for artists.

Edited by fathom

1- what's a shader?