Dumb question : Fastgi

Hi !

I'm still a beginner myself, but here's how I did it.

grid SOP -> Facet SOP (post-compute normals checked) -> Scatter SOP

(without the facet the points of the cloud seem to have no normals)

Turn on the render-flag on the grid.

Save the Scatter SOP geo to disk.

Add a fastgi SHOP, and point it to the geo file.

Assign the SHOP to the grid.

Should work now.

However, I have some questions myself:

If I understand it right, the purpose of the point-cloud based approach is

to somehow 'intelligently' scatter the points over the object, based for example on curvature, and then use these as gi-sample points.

Points in low frequency areas will be spread farther apart, while points in high-freq areas will be denser.

So far so good, but wouldn't I need to increase the filter radius in these low-freq areas?

The fastgi shader seems to have a fixed filter radius for all points.

Maybe one could use the average distance of the points in the filter radius of the shader, but being a newbie myself I'm not ready to implement it myself.

Finally, has anyone got good results on highly detailed objects using point-cloud based GI?

Or is it more meant to be used in rather low-frequency scenarios?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated, as I'm desperatly trying to get faster ambient occlusion out of mantra.

(Compare with mental ray + dirtmap shader, for example)

Thanks

Ok i got it working now . Thank you very much.

but as you said it really doesnt work all that good on complex objects :(

A shader that uses this approach : http://www.andrew-whitehurst.net/amb_occlude.html

would be great for houdini but i am still lightyears away from being able to write it :(