Working on a nuclear explosion..need pointers, file and pic included

arkahtek

hey guys i'm trying to get my nuclear explosion to look similar to the reference pic below on the right, my sim and composite is on the left, how can i keep heat in the mushroom cloud without changing the shape of the sim toward the end of the 240 frame sim..can someone give pointers or help me tweak my file, i'm new to houdini 11 months old lol so please break it down as simple as you can if you're giving pointers thanks ..i think i'm close but it still needs work. 

EDIT : This is what i have so far .. view 3rd and 4th pic.. let me know what you guys think. the explosion is 3 seconds in or 72 frames, on the  3rd frame grab. On the 4th its 4 seconds in or 96 frames

Edit ; HERE IS THE LATEST TAKE..low res png check the last screen shot as of january 15 1016

Edit latest version : Final nuke render

nuke in progress 2 hotter pt 2.hip

post-12008-0-19286900-1440613756_thumb.g

post-12008-0-38707200-1452898631_thumb.p

Edited by arkahtek

@Atom

Just press escape as soon as the scene opens to stop the simulation and then jump to frame one. Another tip is do disable the lights to stop them for calculation the  viewport render.

@OP

So first off, in regard to my reply ti Atom, above - when saving scene's with simulations, be sure to be on frame one, else, opening it, it'll start simulation and locking up Houdini directly.

And I don't know what you have set up here but it's insanely heavy and if I enable OpenCL I get instant OpenCL errors and Houdini crashes. Not to be rude but I suspect most who opened scene took one look and judged it a potential rats nest and closed it down. We have no point of reference to the methodology you used setting this up at all so unless you're in production and get something like this, most - myself included - won't start digging trying to figure out what the hell it is we are looking at. :(

Edited by Farmfield