Xgen alternative

mosssi

Hi all

I assume you already see Lee Griggs artworks produced by Xgen. If not this is the link:

http://www.leegriggs.com/335056/3779154/home/xgen-rendered-with-arnold-for-maya

post-14228-0-40903000-1449987364_thumb.j

I thinking about a way to reproduce this nice effects and animating them in Houdini but with copy sop its really heavy to work and because I'm not experienced enough in H, I don't know an alternative way to do that. I'm pretty familiar with Xgen and I can do this in Maya but I think Houdini is capable of doing something similar. So what's your opinion?

Thanks

Copy before animation. Manipulate data using VEX nodes. Actually, you can get rid of Copy SOP completely, but it is fast when used properly.

That's what I'm talking about. Thank you man. you didn't even use packed primitives but its fast enough, I assume the stamp function is the lazy one.

also thanks for the example. 

Stamp would sacrifice speed for controllability. There are multiple ways to do this in Houdini right now, so you'll need to pick the solution that matches what you need to do. Since you're new, I'd avoid stamping for the time being :)

Stamp would sacrifice speed for controllability. There are multiple ways to do this in Houdini right now, so you'll need to pick the solution that matches what you need to do. Since you're new, I'd avoid stamping for the time being :)

Thanks Marc

Just for curiosity, can you please explain briefly about any possible method. I'm sure I can dig into them.