Very basic Py code in Switch SOP

Kardonn

This feels like a dumb question, but it's 4am, I'm pretty new to Python and I'm sure I'm just missing something stupid here. I'm trying to change a Switch SOP in my scene based on whether or not a certain node exists in /obj/. This is my shelf button to test it out with, which works just fine:

root = hou.node('/obj')

nodes = root.children()

exist = 0

for child in nodes:
    if (child.name().startswith("oven_mitt")):
        exist = 1
        break

if exist == 0:
    print 'Nope!'
else:
    print 'Yes!'

Then on the Switch SOP, I'm just changing the "print 'Nope!'" to 0 and "print 'Yes!'" to 1...but it doesn't seem to work anymore. If I leave the print statements in place though and hit apply in the Python expression window, the console properly outputs Nope! and Yes!

I'm guessing I'm missing some kind of parm.eval() code here or something like that.

Python expression used in parameters are implicitly functions, so in your case you would have to "return 0/1" instead of "print"

(...)
if exist == 0:
   return 0
else:
   return 1

A couple of random thoughts about that.

- I kind of dislike solving such problem wtih python script embeded into parameters. Not sure if this is prejudice or rational concerns. First, at least for 15.0.322 you will have problem with refreshing, which I'am not sure how to solve. Putting hou.frame() into the code, makes it time dependent, so it will refresh on time change, but not force recook in place. Second, this is non-procedural, hardcoded solution...

- Oldschool way would be to use ObjectMergeSOP with /obj/startwith_key* parm, and in switchsop use expression like bellow to check whether it has imported anything. This obviously doesn't work for many cases though...

if(npoints("../objectmerge") > 0, 1, 0)