How to add points to the group node at certain Frames?

Hi there!

I'm new to houdini and tring to understand the logic behind it. I'm tring to add points to the group node. But i want to control this. Like at frame 1, add the points 100 95 22. But at frame 10, add points 200 46 8 to the previous selection. At frame 20 add point 45 564 89 etc. Is there a way to achieve this directly in group node with "expressions" maybe?

Note; My scene contains nothing so its useless to share a hip i guess. I just add a sphere, scatter points and add group node. And sorry for my english, its not my main language.

Thanks

You can arbitrarily add points to groups using VEX in an AttributeWrangle.

int ary_point_candidates[] = {};
if (@Frame == 10) {
    ary_point_candidates = {1,15,34,12,7};
}

if (@Frame == 100) {
    ary_point_candidates = {51,19,7,32,33};
}

int l = len(ary_point_candidates);
if (l > 0) {
    foreach (int i; ary_point_candidates){
        setpointgroup(geoself(),"my_group",i,1,"set");  
    }
}

post-12295-0-03207200-1454940124_thumb.j

Edited by Atom

Hi,

I don't think you can do this directly in group SOP. you can, however, do it with group SOP and a switch SOP. see the attachment. it is not the only way how to do that but I think it is the most straightforward one. 

Thanks for the quick reply davpe!!! Really appericiate it.

You can arbitrarily add points to groups using VEX in an AttributeWrangle.

if (@Frame == 10) {
    ary_point_candidates = {1,15,34,12,7};
}

if (@Frame == 100) {
    ary_point_candidates = {51,19,7,32,33};
}

if (l > 0) {
    }
}

Thanks for the reply atom. I tried this code on a wrangle node but got no chance. Wondering what am i doing wrong? When i check, i see no group created for example. I see you create a group in vex( am i right?) from the points you selected but i got no chance of accessing to those points/group.

Thanks anyway

Did you change the Wrangle to run over Detail as shown in the image?