Transform Position Y of an object from Ocean Waves while it is animated to move through the surface of Ocean via Vex

Hi,

I am fairly new to houdini. I have attached a scene here, I have animated a box to move through the Ocean Wave in X direction and I want it to follow the Y transformation of the point from the ocean wave so that it looks like it is interacting with the wave below. I want a VEX method please.

My file picks up the transformation of a single point but it does not updates the points while the box moves so the Y transform remains intact with the first point that it picks up at the beginning. So please look at the attached file and please let me know how to overcome it.

And please if anyone can suggest me a good source to learn VEX language for houdini from the beginning. And I know python language so will I have to learn Hscript or Python is a perfect substitute?

box_move.hip

int handle = pcopen(1, "P", @P, 2, 10);
vector value = pcfilter(handle, "P");
@P.y += value.y;

*Very* crude method :D Perform a point cloud lookup to find the nearest 10 points from the box, searching radius of 2 units (no idea what would work best I just chucked those in). Obviously won't include things like velocity (falling faster down the waves, slower up, etc) but somewhere to get you started. One you have the average information for the wave movement you can do more intelligent things than just directly adding it to the box position. 

• Like 1

17 hours ago, adrianr said:

@P.y += value.y;

*Very* crude method :D Perform a point cloud lookup to find the nearest 10 points from the box, searching radius of 2 units (no idea what would work best I just chucked those in). Obviously won't include things like velocity (falling faster down the waves, slower up, etc) but somewhere to get you started. One you have the average information for the wave movement you can do more intelligent things than just directly adding it to the box position.