Translating points procedurally

Hello---

I'm relatively new to Houdini. 

I have a task where I have points which I have extracted from geometry

and I would like to translate those points to a location determined by a mathematical function. Let's assume that

I can access the points I need by using the "add" node and I have the points from my geometric structure.  What is the best way to

"loop" through that array of points and translate them to a new location.  For example, ignoring Z for the moment, say I just want to translate them in a parabolic

shape in 2D using the function y = X^2.  (ignore "z" coordinate).

What is the easiest way to do this ?  I would need to "loop" through various ranges of points in this list and perhaps move them differently, so the function may

apply to the first 100 points, but I may want to use a different function for the next 100 etc.  so I do need a way to parse through the list.

Would you use a point VOB for this ?  - or perhaps wrangle it directly in VEX ?  - or is there a way to do this in an expression within the node ?

Please point me in the right direction,  Cheers,

Edited by 964racer

A point wrangle sounds the best way to do this.

@P.y = @P.x * @P.x;

or

@P.y = pow(@P.x, 2);

re splitting, each point gets an id, @ptnum, so you could do something like

if (@ptnum < 100) {
   @P.y = pow(@P.x, 2);
} else {
  @P.y = @P.x * 32 + @P.z + sin(@Time + @ptnum);
}

etc.

This is working for me.. Thank you.. but how do I find out what built-in attributes are available from within a pointwrangle node that I can use within the vex expression ?

For example, I know from the code  examples (shown in the arrow menu) in the code editor box, that certain attributes like @ptnum exist but how do I find out what others are available ?