Complex Bool wall breaking

Hello. I've been trying to solve this on my own for some time now but haven't been able to come to a good conclusion. If you have an idea how to solve this without following my current approach please also tell me, I'm very open for any idea that will help me to reach the desired result. 

I am trying to create an effect where I am able to take any kind of geometry (mostly architectural wall pieces, based on single tiles that have been merged) and 'break off' some of it's out hull to achieve this very typical, run-down wall look: IMAGE link

The steps I have currently are (see attached images)

Step1: The base mesh is a merged object made up of individual tiles. I'm fairly new to Houdini, so I might not have created these in an optimal way. Any suggestions on how to improve are very welcome. From these merged objects I get a bunch of groups that I am using later.

step1.thumb.png.7acb70172d2329b73b291b116b77d8d2.png

Step2: From the "base" group, which is just the facade without any of the other pieces I create a bunch of large voronoi clusters.

step2.thumb.png.36e2330a3ff839abe76d2697b84b1a3b.png

Step3: I chose one of the voronoi clusers and, since the object I used to create the voronoi clusers was flat I extrude it.

step3.thumb.png.ce51880e946e3552526961e3c3e46055.png