Dust Blowing Away

brandonY

hi guys!

well i got an idea for a intro for my demo reel ( aspiring VFX student)

i wanted to have dirt blow away and reveal my name. I was thinking maybe a animated displacement map with a bunch of particles?

im somewhat new to houdini as well. i am trying to grasp i3d shading right now. i thought maybe that i could intergrate that into it as well.

thanks for your time guys!

-B

you could try:

making your name with a font SOP

gererate particles on a grid

animate the text 'up'

create a group of particles based on the bounds of the text as it moves through the particles

use a force to blow the grouped particles away

etc

hi guys!

well i got an idea for a intro for my demo reel ( aspiring VFX student)

i wanted to  have dirt  blow away and reveal my name.  I was thinking maybe a animated displacement map with a bunch of particles?

im somewhat new to houdini as well. i am trying to grasp i3d shading right now. i thought maybe that i could intergrate that into it as well.

thanks for your time guys!

-B

24552[/snapback]

Well, one quick way I can think of in my short attention span right now is to have the font geometry pick up color attribute from your particles -- such as using Attribute Transfer SOP/POP. However, the challenge for you would be to get the attribute value to "stick" after the particles passed beyond the Attribute Transfer's search radius. You can then use this color attribute in comp to play with how the text is to be revealed in a separate pass. :)

Hope that helped.

• 1 month later...