Procedural growth of lightning with branches in Houdini 16.5

TanjaW

lightning_test.hipnc

Hello everybody,

I am new to Houdini and am eager to learn more every day. I started with some lightning effects and got stuck where I wanted to create a slider for its growth. If the lighting develops it should start with the main branch. As soon as it reaches the first secondary branch, the secondary branch should start developing as well as the main branch should continue with its develpoment and so on.

In my file you will see a rudimentary version - (I needed to take out a lot of nodes to get a proper overview again) - of the lightning so far.

My idea about how to procede was as following: Have a carve sop for the main branching, the secondary branching as well as the third branching. Paste the relative parameters of the "second u" channel of the main branching into the channel of the secondary and third branching and subtract an offset, which would be the distance of the basepoints from one branching to the basepoints of the following branching. For that I merged the basepoint groups, added a sort sop to bring the point numbers in order, then added an add sop to connect the points. If this had worked, I would have created a distance attribute for me to know the offset. But what I probably need is a wrangle sop in order to specify that I only want to connect the points from the same branches in order to measure the distance between for example basepoints2 and basepoints3. The animated seed of the scattered basepoints will probably make it more complicated since it changes the oder of the point number as well from the sort sop.

Maybe I am completely on the wrong track and there is another - maybe even less complicated - way of doing this, so I would be happy about all responses.

If you've got any ideas on how I could do this, especially how I can write it out in a wrangle node, I would appreciate all help I can get.

• Like 1

Hello Tanya,