Normal Direction

BoulderFoot

Hi guys

I'm fairly new to Houdini (3 months now) coming from Maya, and I have to admit, I quite like the way Houdini thinks. The procedural method of being able to do things is amazing. I'm currently in the process of creating an oval race track procedurally, but need a little bit of help with fixing my normal direction on a curve.

I'm creating a curve from the inner edge of the oval track, and I want to use the points on that curve to place floodlights. The direction of the normals of those points would determine the direction the lights face. I'm also using a resample node to help procedurally adjust the amount of lights along the track.

As you can see, the current normal direction is the best that I can get with my limited knowledge of Houdini and VEX. I've used a Point Wrangle and inside the Point Wrangle I used the VEXpression:

v@N = normalize(v@P);

The problem I have is that the normals at for instance points B and C are not the average angle between it's neighbouring points. In my mind what I think I should be doing (and I could be wrong so your suggestions would be much appreciated) is to get the vector between points B to A, and B to C, calculate the angle between those two vectors, and divide that by 2. Is that the way to do that or is there a better/more efficient way?

Your help and feedback would be much appreciated.

Normals_Direction.jpg

Curve_Normals.hip

In yours, the normals are being calculated by subtracting the center of the object from the point position (@N=@P - (0,0,0)). Instead, you want to attach a Polyframe node, set the Style to First Edge, uncheck Normal Name and Tangent Name, check Bitangent Name and set to N. This will calculate the tangent as you expect. That will cause unexpected results with your end points so clean those up with a wrangle with the end point numbers in the group field:

@N=normalize(@P-(0,0,0));