Help needed for making Gear Generator

surt

hi guys

I'm new to the Houdini, and I'm having hard time understanding how to make loop nodes 

what i want to do is to create a gear generator, which allows me to spawn connected gears with correct rotation speed

something based on the link below, but using loop iteration number as gear name and doing the adding and multiplying based on previous gears information

http://deborahrfowler.com/MathForVSFX/GearRatio.html

where I'm stuck is figuring out the previous gears name and adding new gears info in it. 

any help will be appreciated!!! thank you in advance!

GearGenearatorWIP3.hipnc

Are you in a hurry?
Because I was about to post a gear generation asset with a gear connexion part. I already do this but in another software.
Unfortunately, I'm really in a hurry to finish a job an I can't dive inside for now (not in yours, not in mine). I don't think I can get back to it for another week or two.

What I can say for now is the "connexion" is fairly simple and is more a UI problem. I think the for-each approch is not the best (but it's just a quick opinion).
At least the iteration use, cause the gears speeds is just about teeth numbers. You should create an attribute "numTeeth" and use it.
And by the way I get an "incomplet asset" message. At the object level I just see a line.

hi flcc,

no- I'm not in a hurry but this thing has been giving me a trouble for a week and i just want a good solution to it. 

I do have numTeeth attribute, and i am able to match gear rotation with previous one... but i just don't know how to generate it automatically in Houdini

and for the file... i wonder if its not showing up because I'm still using free learning edition..

well basically the connection is very similar to hip file thats in the link above (http://deborahrfowler.com/MathForVSFX/GearRatio.html)

well thanks for your time! and i would love to see how you have treated this problem in your way too