RBD concave thin wall collisions not detected

neurostudio

hey guys i am having a little bit of an issue with this test.

i picked up this setup from another thread on this forum however in this particular scenario it doesn't seem to work as i am probably missing something.

basically the pieces getting activated and falling, do not collide with the inner shrunk body volume i created and - since i am a houdini newbie - i am struggling to figure this out :)

tried to change geometry representation to concave, tried to increase resolution of colliders, but nothing worked so far.

i'd be really grateful if anyone could suggest a possible solution.

here's HIP and assets in case you want to have a look.

thank you in advance.

ALTzdRVw.jpeg

7 hours ago, bunker said:

You should use convex pieces with Bullet, the convex decomposition SOP can help with that.
convex pieces are slow and (very) buggy.

Hey Julien,

I am gonna give that a shot and report back. thank you :)

Edited by neurostudio

10 hours ago, bunker said:

You should use convex pieces with Bullet, the convex decomposition SOP can help with that.
convex pieces are slow and (very) buggy.

Hey Julien, 

I have been implementing convex decomposition (probably the wrong way), and made a bit of a progress. 

Would you mind having a look at my file? Assets .abc is included.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/eaheclpww2w090l/FRACTURE.zip?dl=0

thank you :)

I had a look at your HIP file, there was a few issues.
- the left side of the body didn't have a name attribute, same of the new faces from the PolyExtrude
- convex decomposition won't be consistent on animated geometry

a much better way is to create all your pieces on frame 1 and pointdeform them to transfer the animation.
for the activation, you can use a wrangle in DOPs and lookup your pointcloud directly.

girl_fracture_05_convex_decomposition2.hiplc

hope that makes sense.

3 hours ago, bunker said:

I had a look at your HIP file, there was a few issues.