Tcl/Tk for Houdini

Stremik

Another good link is:

http://resource.tcl.tk/resource/software/t...ols/guibuilder/

I've dabbled with Visual Tcl in the past but not with Houdini. Reading the specs, for Visual Tcl and tkBuilder, Houdini should work with them fine. That is probably the easiest way to create custom GUI's in Houdini.

Ok, so if you're lazy, make sure you go to this page where it gives you all the tutorials:

http://www.tcl.tk/scripting/

In particular, a good one page intro on tcl is here:

http://www.tcl.tk/scripting/primer.html

I'm really busy for the next two weeks. But if you want to bug me about it afterwards, I'd be happy to figure out and write a short tutorial on how to build custom graphical tk interfaces in Houdini using Visual Tcl or tkBuilder.

dante

Thanks Dante!

I just started learning Tcl/Tk and so far I'm doing fine (it appers to be preaty straightforward) but what more interests me is how to make Tcl scripts to interact with Houdini.

I know this is done trough hscript but I want to find out the details. You know.Stuff like how to retreve data from Houdini and pass it back on etc. For example, how to set Variables inside Houdini from Tcl/Tk script or a frame range or visibility of objects and so on.

Guess for this I need to know hscript as well, right?

It'll be really great if you put togethr that little tutorial you mentioned.

Anyway. If you don't, it's ok. I don't want you to feel obligated.

Thanks again for your help. :D

to learn hscript:

-one afternoon (okay maybe two :) )

-a textport

-type in "help"

-get list of commands, and read the interesting-looking one's help!

(the :ch: functions and the :op: functions....)

now you know enough hscript to do a lot of damage.

-grab a hot cup o' joe and pat yourself on the back!

have fun!

• 2 weeks later...