"tiny"

B.Walters

For the past week I've been working on a project I've unofficially titled "Tiny" (a play on Massive). In short, two (or more) teams of 'spaceships' fly around and shoot each other up. All-in-all it's been a study of A.I. and POP-VOPS(I just started playing around in VOP Networks last week - thanks to Johnny of DD).

Take a peak: http://studentpages.scad.edu/~bwalte21/tiny01.mov

In the end you'll notice a handful of the spaceships go flying off into oblivion. That's because there are still quite a few quirks in the A.I. about target selecting, which I intend to hammer out tomorrow.

I plan to release this .hip file for public viewing soon, I just want to clean it up a little bit before-hand.

Comments, suggestions, unrelated stories, jokes, and critiques are all welcome.

[EDIT 10-17-06]: Here's the Tiny HDA / OTL: tiny.otl

• 2 weeks later...
Nice, i'm a beginner still at houdini, but this looks like stuff that i want to learn (the reason i wanted to learn houdini is because of the sample chapter from the art of houdini, that's about particles..)..

thanks for posting this up, will be much to learn from this.

Thank you very much. I'll be sure to let you know once I finally clean this file up a bit more and hopefully release it as a digital asset + an example .hip file. In the mean time, I've included an additional movie to help feed your appetite. Also, if you're anywhere near Los Angeles, there's a 1-day, intro to particles course being offered at Side Effects next weekend. You can read more about it at www.sidefx.com

tiny02.mov