walk cycle

betty

hi everybody

well i had left the character tools alone for quite a while until the recent post on bone setups got me excited again.

i tried doing a simple walk cycle but am having problems. i am not rally worried about the animation, (actually it's quite incomplete and simple and not the priority or focus of the excercise), but i am having difficulty with organising the CHOP networks into a simple streamlined workflow.

what i really want is say all th parameters which are going out to specified channels to all come out of one CHOP. i then figure it would then be easier to do things like blends from walk>run , run>jump etc. basically just making things easy in the workflow then having all these different CHOPs everywhere.

i've attached a hipfile, which may be of interest to "complete novices" as i am very much a novice myself, but i am hoping for some advice on how to better set this up for animation transitions.

thanks kenny for the leg set-up which is pretty much (99%) what i've used.

btw, i just remembered my cycleCHOP is a mess, i can't seem to keep my cycles in proportion. as i'm cycling the z-xform of the feet, one seems to be going fine while the other looses a bit of distance which each cycle which of course turns into a disaster. it seems simple enough and can't see why it is doing that to one channel and not the other. obviously i'm a touch confused......?????

walkcycle.zip

Hmm ... maybe it's because one of your cycle chops for the foot raising ihas Blend from Start to End turned on? The stretch chops also look a bit weird though ... maybe you should use cubic instead of linear for those. Finally, maybe you need to overlap the cycles by 1 frame?

• 4 weeks later...