wind blocking - vellum solver

Hi guys,

A quick question from a Houdini beginner here.

I'm working on a vellum simulation with wind force. It's a simple curtain animation but I'd like for the wind to be partially blocked by a wall (so only a part of the curtain is moving).
I thought by default the wind is going to collide with my collision geometry but it doesn't seem to work that way. 
I've plugged a popwind node in the vellum solver - force_output but I'm not sure how to have that wind affected by an object. Do I need a pop solver somewhere?

I'm attaching some screenshots from my scene.

Thank you for the help!

c01.JPG

c02.JPG

Hey!
It is as you say, Houdini's forces don't really interact with collision geometry in that way. I think the easiest way to fix your issue is to make a point group in SOPS of the points you want the wind to affect and then add that group to the "group" parameter of your "popwind" node.

Made a quick scene and it seems to be working.

Hope that can help you solve your issue!

• Like 2

13 hours ago, underscoreus said:

Hey!
It is as you say, Houdini's forces don't really interact with collision geometry in that way. I think the easiest way to fix your issue is to make a point group in SOPS of the points you want the wind to affect and then add that group to the "group" parameter of your "popwind" node.

Made a quick scene and it seems to be working.

Hope that can help you solve your issue!

Thank you for such a quick response! 

I've just tried that and seems to be working well, thanks!
I've always struggled to get that effect in Marvelous Designer so happy to have it working in Houdini.

I still wonder though if there's a more physically accurate way to do it...

Anyways, thank you for the help again!

• Like 1

Glad I could help!

4 minutes ago, omnikopter said:

I still wonder though if there's a more physically accurate way to do it...