Delete percentage of points after specific frame

D’Blane

Hello, I have a sim set up using flip objects with geo copied to points. I want to be able to delete 5% of my points every frame after a specific frame, so there is a gradual deletion. I referenced this post which triggers from frame 1.

https://forums.odforce.net/topic/29024-delete-5-of-points-every-frame/

Can I achieve that same setup, but trigger it from a specific frame number, rather than from frame 1?

I'm a beginner and still getting my head around vex. 

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

I'm not completely sure about the syntax here since I'm not in front of a machine with Houdini to test on, but maybe something like this inside a pop wrangle:

if(@Frame >= yourframenumber)
{
  if(rand(@ptnum) > 0.95)
  {
    removepoint(0,@ptnum);
  }
}

Just replace "yourframenumber" with the frame you want it to start at and if you want to delete more (or less) than 5% change 0.95 to another number. The number you want here is basically: 1 - (your % number / 100).
So for 5% it is: 1 - (5 / 100) -> 1 - 0.05 = 0.95.

Just as a quick explainer:
- if() statements let you compare two values and then if the comparison criteria are met then it will execute the code inside the {}. The most common comparators are == (equals), != (not equals), < (less than), > (greater than), && (and), || (or). Some of these can also be combined, like the equals and less than / greater than to become equals or less, equals or greater.
- "@ptnum" and "@Frame" are both attributes that are always present on points even if they don't show up in the geometry spreadsheet the same way other attributes do (ptnum actually shows up kinda, all the way to the left as the number on the side). Ptnum is each point's unique id and Frame simply just gets the current frame.