Transparent Plastic Shader.

Symbolic

Hi,

I am trying to create a transparent plastic cover for my lamp.

Here are some references that I have shot:

post-1724-1187193357_thumb.jpg

post-1724-1187193363_thumb.jpg

Here are some other reference images:

post-1724-1187193401_thumb.jpg

post-1724-1187193406_thumb.jpg

And these are my tests:

post-1724-1187193430_thumb.jpg

post-1724-1187193435_thumb.jpg

trans_test_v1r7_for_post.hip

I do not have enough time to go deep into this problem... :(

And the lamp will not be that close to the camera... So I might be going with my current results... the *.hip file contains a glass shader from the Glass posts here on odforce... and just a standart houdini glass shader... I do not have any idea about how will I make it look like plastic... and I am not that experienced with VEX and the maths behind reflections and refractions...

So any ideas on this will be very helpful. Thanks.

Maybe rays are "leaking" through your model because you faceted the glass? I bypassed the /obj/the_object/facet1 SOP and it rendered nicely.

ow... the facet was meant to create some variations and flat parts so that the plastic look is enhanced. Maybe I am wrong. But even without the facet it just look like glass... like a bottle or something... it does not look like a cheap plastic...

:(

A quick modification:

post-148-1187240967_thumb.jpg

Get the last shader in the Glass thread (you were using one of the earliest versions which doesn't let you do blurry reflections/transmissions). Then you can control the "diffuseness" of the transmission by opening up the sampling angle (the "Angular Spread" parameter). The more you open it, the more samples you'll need for a noiseless result, but if this doesn't get close to camera then you can keep it a little noisy.