Selecting specific points on a grid

Hi, I'm pretty new to using Houdini but have a question and was wondering if a group node was the best solution. Before I proceed with the question is there a good website which has lots of examples of how all the nodes work, the in-built help is good but sometimes doesn't have enough information if you've new to Houdini.

Anyway, basically I have a grid of many points, I was wondering if there is a way to select particular individual points on it. Say select every 5th point for example, or select the first point on each row. I was then wanting to copy a piece of geometry to these selected points.

Thanks for any help

Hi! my english is too bad, I think you want make a copys in diferentes points into the same grid.

Its very easy.

Look the image

You can put the numbers points to make it in "Template groups" for copy a piece of geometry in every 5th points you can write groups 1-5 10-15 20-25 etc, and you can mix groups and select unique points numbers. 1-5 8 10-15 etc...

Sorry my english, I hope I can help you.

post-3296-1231177233_thumb.jpg

Hi,

If you want to select every nth point, change the Operation parameter from Group by Pattern to Group by Range and the Select_of_ parameter to 1 and 5. If you want the first point of each row, it will be 1 of the number of rows of your grid.

To make it procedural, you will channel reference the rows parameter (Right click on the Rows lable & select Copy Parameter) to the second parameter of the Select_of_ parameter (Right click on the second field & select Paste Copied References) so everytime you change the number of rows of your grid, the first point of each row will be selected.

Cheers!

steven

Thanks Steven, I have given it a go, but I have a few questions. If you see what I have done so far:

houdini_1.jpg

houdini_2.jpg