Delete particles based on ID not Point number

buran13

Hey guys,

I'm trying to clean up particle sims coming from RealFlow.

Is there a way to delete a group of particles based on their ID attribute and not the point number?

The amount of particles I need to get rid of is quite big, so it'll be really helpful if there is a way I can just select them in the viewport.

Any help is most appreciated!

Thanks

Made a quick and dirty example, notes are in the file. Hopefully it helps. :)

kill_by_id.hip

Static, thank you so much!! Exactly what I need. Although it takes a bit of time to cook with the amount of particles that I have.

Is there maybe a way to store the "kill" information in a temp file or something and use that instead of doing a loop for each particle?

Sorry if I'm asking dumb questions. I'm a noob with Houdini.

Lukeiamyourfather, thanks for the help, but I prefer to do it in Houdini. This can be very very useful not just with RealFlow particles but with particles coming from Houdini or Maya.

Thanks again

Is there maybe a way to store the "kill" information in a temp file or something and use that instead of doing a loop for each particle?

Sorry for the delayed reply... my caches came back at work :P

I made a quick python function that does that, so it only iterates once (when it's constructing the delete expression). Now it should run faster, and only requires a delete sop with a couple spare parameters. The script itself is stored in the hou.session module, accessed by going to the top menu Windows -> Python Source Editor

Keep in mind that you still need to replace the blast node with whichever one gets created, or you could chain them together, where each delete SOP references a different blast SOP.

I'm tempted to clean this up and post an otl on the exchange when I have some time. It seems pretty useful.

kill_by_id_exp.hip

Sorry for the delayed reply... my caches came back at work :P