VEX vs Python?

vtrvtr

Hello.

I have a couple questions. Sorry if this isn't the correct section.

I'm learning Houdini and although I have some experience with C, I have much more experience with Python, so I figured I would use Python instead of VEX for most things. So question one is:

Is that feasible? From what I could gather you can write everything using the python library, but I'm not sure if this is correct. Is there something that python wouldn't be able or wouldn't be a smart way to do?

The second question is: what would be the recommended way to translate VEX expressions to python? Pretty much all tutorials I ever saw used VEX/hscript, so I usually have to translate, which I don't mind in the slightest,
but sometimes is hard to find what are exactly the equivalents.

For example, right now I'm trying to copy one attribute to a newly created one using a wrangler, which in VEX goes simply as

f@new_p = @old_p

But I'm not sure how would it go with python

Thanks

Edited by vtrvtr

28 minutes ago, vtrvtr said:

I'm learning Houdini and although I have some experience with C, I have much more experience with Python, so I figured I would use Python instead of VEX for most things. So question one is:

Is that feasible? (...)

It is not. 

95% of cases when you want to process geometry, it is a job for VEX. Changing attributes' values, adding points, prims, manipulating vectors, etc. VEX is very well shaped to process heavy data,  forcing Python for doing this is ultimately waste of time. Using Python for a job will require learning Python->Houdini interaction anyway, which is pretty much the same as learning VEX from scratch - it is really very simple language. 

Both Python and VEX have their own place in Houdini, you can't escape from neither of them :) .

• Like 2

6 minutes ago, symek said:

It is not.