Ambient Occlusion for a Closed Environment?

Hello everyone,

Anyone has any idea that what is the best way to get AO from a closed space that lights can't pass trough?

Imagine a room without any windows. If I put a light inside the room the result will be shadows instead of AO. And If I put an ENV light, it will be black unless I un-check the casting shadows which it makes everything white.

Thanks

You could use Occlusion VOP in your surface material. Remember to change max distance from -1 to something close to an interior size (otherwise every ray hit will be treated as an occlusion == black render). Also Background color has to be set to 2.0.

• Like 1

7 hours ago, symek said:

You could use Occlusion VOP in your surface material. Remember to change max distance from -1 to something close to an interior size (otherwise every ray hit will be treated as an occlusion == black render). Also Background color has to be set to 2.0.

I am pretty new in Houdini.

Where do I have to connect the Occlusion VOP to? and also how do I get it out in my passes? any special setting do I have change in my render settings?

2 hours ago, 6ril said:

the answer to all those questions would be writing a part of the software doc !

I suggest you start with the basics, tuts on sidefx etc...

the question might be basic but I can't spend like months to read all the docs now to find the answer. My scene is ready to render so I thought maybe there is an easy and quick method to do it, specially because the situation in my scene is something unusual as the space is a closed space.

I am learning Houdini, and asking a question here doesn't mean I don't google things or I don't look at the Houdini docs.

Thanks anyway

didn't know you got a scene ready, and re-reading myself now, I sound a little harsh, sorry about that.

are you comfortable with mantra shader building/modifying ? render aovs ?