G.i. Workflow In Mantra

Hi, i'm trying to understand mantra nowadays i built a simple test scene and used light template with vex g.i. shader the result is nice but i have some questions; first what is the workflow of vex g.i. shader? is it faking g.i. or real g.i. probably it's an odd question but i'm new in Houdini also in mantra and just experienced in v-ray so "having g.i. with a shader" sounds little different to me can anyone explain the main idea behind this? and is it any other way to get g.i.? thanks..

Hi, i'm trying to understand mantra nowadays i built a simple test scene and used light template with vex g.i. shader the result is nice but i have some questions; first what is the workflow of vex g.i. shader? is it faking g.i. or real g.i. probably it's an odd question but i'm new in Houdini also in mantra and just experienced in v-ray so "having g.i. with a shader" sounds little different to me can anyone explain the main idea behind this? and is it any other way to get g.i.? thanks..

As for GI methods: Like V-Ray, Mantra supports irradiance + irradiance-caching, photon illumination (for direct and indirect illum/caustics) + photon-maps. Mantra also supports Physically Based Rendering - I'm not sure V-Ray does this but my current reading suggests no.

Using the VEX Global Illumination light shader is real GI in the sense that it sends out rays to accumulate diffuse reflection from our scene and it applies is a secondary illumination. This is called irradiance and it's very easy to set up. It's very nice have this implemented this way as a Light shader because it will calculate the secondary illumination for the entire scene and the individual shaders themselves don't need any explicit support for GI; if they accept illumination the usual way, they'll receive secondary illumination.