Fracture Control

AdrianLazar

Hello Everyone,

Since this is my first post here please let me introduce myself.

My name is Adrian Lazar, I'm a 3d artist (generalist) using Softimage - some of my work can be viewed here: http://vimeo.com/channels/adrianlazar3d

A couple of months ago I started learning Houdini - tutorials from sidefx.com, Peter Quint's videos on Vimeo and also just browsing OdForce and the community from the official website.

It was a slow start and I wanted to quit many times but somehow each time I went back to Houdini... is quite addictive :)

I'm interested to learn as much as I can in all areas of Houdini but at the end I'll focus on shaders and lighting and hopefully modelling. I say hopefully because at least for me modelling is the hardest part to learn in a new package especially since I find the modelling work-flow from softimage almost perfect :) Of course it's a vey subjective opinion.

Anyway... today I was playing with dynamics and I tried to break a column using the voronoi fracture, similar to the tutorial from go procedural. The difference is that my column should be stuck to the ground (like a subway pillar) but when the simulation runs it doesn't act that way. Maybe I can paint the points that I don't want to fracture at all? Like I can paint the bottom of the pillar so it doesn't move or fracture.

I think that a picture will describe better what I mean,

Thanks,

Adrian

post-6393-12959558584_thumb.jpg

Edited by AdrianLazar

Hi Adrian, and welcome.

From the top of my mind, you got two quick ways to do this:

- add a Pin Constrain to the pieces at the base so that they don´t move. That will give you the motion you are after. I have tried this myself and it works perfectly. It´s a bit uncomfortable if there are many pieces, but you usually get this done in about 5 minutes.