Production Fluid voxel settings?

viezel

Hi there!

Im doing my master thesis on Fluid simulations in Houdini. Im comparing different voxel settings in the pyro solver.

The question I would like you guys to answer, is when are you doing a commercial for a client, which voxel settings are you using for the final simulation?

Please also state which kind of simulation you are making, like: smoke, fire, both, etc...

Hope someone would help me out.. Cheers!

Thanks for the reply.

And you are complete right, plenty of settings has everything to do with the looks of the simulation besides the voxel definition. I know im asking a rather odd question, but I would be very pleased just with estimates.

Lets say you are doing a burned out building, with heavy dark smoke emitting from it. How high would you most likely go with the voxel definition? 200,300,500 or even higher to create realistic smoke?

Im not looking for a precise answer, just an indication.

hope that makes sense.

Well I have just done some fluidsimulations of fire in Maya(shame on me) wich required a high level of detail.

I had grids with 600 in voxel definition in some of the fluidcontainers. I must say that Maya gets painfully slow when

handlingen that amount of detail. Dealing with fluids that needs to be at a very high detail level, tends be very timeconsuming.

I like Houdinis quality in the rendering of fluids and the amount of controle it gives you, but I have not tried to push it futher than just the usually tests. Houdinis fluidcaches is smaller in size, so I guess it handles fluiddata more optimal.

Erik

That's a really funny question :lol:

- how far is your fluid from the camera ?

- how much depth is necessary (z-depth) ?

- how much time/memory do you have ? how many iterations per day ?

- can you split the sim between several machines ?

- how much motion blur ? (including camera motion blur)

- is the fluid even in focus ?

- are you using shader noise or volume sharpening ?