Small Wall Explosion

TheAdmira1

I have always tried to create my effects w some variation of POPs, so I decided it was finally time to sit down and learn smoke. To do that Ive been trying to put together a personal project of a hole blowing out of a wall in the parking lot of my building. Sooo heres my progress so far. would love to hear feedback, good bad, or ugly. Im still trying to figure out what forces to use, how to dissipate better and how to control my shaders better... but here it is.

most current video(10/5/11):

the next tests were of the wall exploding alone, this render is in 3D, but you can turn off the 3D in the bottom right of the player here

this is the first test using smoke and a wind force + impulse force

and in this render im trying to use multiple smoke sims w metaballs and magnet forces. also, im using the feedback from the internal smoke explosion to help drive the fracture in the wall

Again I am still learning and sifting through what information I can find, but this is what I have come up with so far. hope you like it

Edited by TheAdmira1

I have always tried to create my effects w some variation of POPs, so I decided it was finally time to sit down and learn smoke. To do that Ive been trying to put together a personal project of a hole blowing out of a wall in the parking lot of my building. Sooo heres my progress so far. would love to hear feedback, good bad, or ugly. Im still trying to figure out what forces to use, how to dissipate better and how to control my shaders better... but here it is.

most current video:

the next tests were of the wall exploding alone, this render is in 3D, but you can turn off the 3D in the bottom right of the player here

this is the first test using smoke and a wind force + impulse force

and in that first render im trying to use multiple smoke sims w metaballs and magnet forces. also, im using the feedback from the internal smoke explosion to help drive the fracture in the wall