Fractured geometry motion blur problem

Cuprum

Hi. I am new to Hiudini. I decided to start with quickstart tutorials from sidefx website ( the first one with modeling columns and destructing them). I did everything what was written in pdf, but my render got really ugly flickering on inside parts of fracture with motion blur. I tried to make sampling quality really high but without success. Is it even possible to get quality mblur on inside parts of fractured geometry? If yes, how?

You increased Pixel Samples? Around 12 samples could be enough.

If you cant fix it, drop a scene file and I will check it.

I tried 16x16, it took very long but without success :(

Here is the file. It is just a tutorial scene, not a big deal really since mblur is post job usually anyways, but I am slightly discouraged to be honest. First encounter went not very well.

lesson1_4.hip

the flickering you see is because your normals are not correct on your columns.

add a reverse sop to your columns before your mergesop.

...and it worked out perfectly! Thank you. Seems like motion blur just exaggerated problem, it was not cause of it.

Hi Moondeer.

Can you please explain the relationship between "flickering" and reversed normals?

i am sure someone else can elaborate more... the gist is that the normal is key for shading. its direction is integral to determining just how much

light and shadow should be applied to the pixel at render time. mantra will do its best even when there is no normal for a surface. when reversed or pointing

inwards, the side facing the camera does not have a proper normal with which mantra can determine proper color.

variations in 'best effort' is the flickering...

when fractured, the pieces are based on the original, so with fractured columns that have incorrect normals, you get pieces with incorrect normals.

;)

so the pieces now also have the flickering.