Is there a way to preview forces/deformers on particles?

Max has a 3rd party plug-in called ForceViewer that's very useful. It shows how a force is affecting the space by using vectors and deforming them accordingly:

PhoenixFD_01.jpg

PhoenixFD_02.jpg

Is there something similar or a trick used by expert Houdini artists to do the same? :)

I am having a hard time visualizing for instance how a certain Noise in VOPs affect particles.

• Like 1
  • Downvote 2

I am having a hard time visualizing ..

im not an expert , yet i need such a useful feature ( not for fields only but for attribites too ) .

imho , that can be build but wd require extra geometry , extra time , extra etc ..

at least even for visualising ( on / off ) attribites actually their controls are Too ' physically far from ' a quick workflow ..

so , often i Trust to my intuition or trial&error technique , because thats not easy .

imho , those should be packed inside a dedicated tab folder of each node ( visualise any attribite thats passing there ) , or if thats ' expensive ' .. a new node for each Context .

afair , i illustrated with XSIs ICE ability to view or hide attribs and asked the option to have UnCountable-Geometry to use only for visualisation purposes ..

( maybe that was @H12 Wishlist . time to copy-paste @13th one maybe )

.cheers

• Like 1

Thansk zarti. How does it work in XSI? I only saw their viewport display of values which was similar to Houdini's but more options for matrices, etc.

It would be massively useful to be able to visualize these in the viewport, but I am not sure of the best way to propose. ForceViewer is ok but if there can be a better way, it would be dream like.

One option is to sample accel with additional particles. I suppose this way you capture all forces applied on particles, though I haven't checked this.

1) Create a bounding box of the size of your sim. Append PointFromVolumeSOP and plug into second input of your POPNet.