Stamp expression from COP to SOP?

Hi all,

I have asked the same question on sidefx forum .... but no one respond to it....

I have a copy SOP with a stamp attribute.

And I have a COP network with a font. I want to make a stamp expression on this font node.

I used this expression with back tick: `stamp("../../../obj/sphere_object1/copy1", "POSX",0)`

I used this COP output as Color Map for my material!

But the stamp expression passes only the "0" to the material!?!?

What is wrong with my expression?

Thanks

Nico

StampToCOP.hipnc

• 2 weeks later...

I'm very new to Houdini but i think it's impossible cause you're creating one plane with Font COP and try to loop (stamp is a kind of loop, right?) through all your primitives to get their attribs.

I'd better create detail string attrib == list of all your prim attribs as strings (Python) - something like "1.212 2.4656 32.355 5.643" and then create plane with Font COP with `details(SOPnode, attrib)` as text and then shifted UVs per grid to get only portion of the texture.

Edited by bloomendale

I'm very new to Houdini but i think it's impossible cause you're creating one plane with Font COP and try to loop (stamp is a kind of loop, right?) through all your primitives to get their attribs.

I'd better create detail string attrib == list of all your prim attribs as strings (Python) - something like "1.212 2.4656 32.355 5.643" and then create plane with Font COP with `detail(SOPnode, attrib, 0)` as text and then shifted UVs per grid to get only portion of the texture.

Sounds possible but a lot trickier than a simple stamp. Could you make a hip for us to examine?

I think the worst problem here is that the shader has an op:/ path for the image, and that image is supposed to change per primitive.

When the shader is run inside mantra, it no longer has knowledge of the processing inside Houdini. So, even if the stamping worked, you wouldn't be able to render it.