Houdini moving sphere with pyro - flame sometimes work

mo22

Hi all,

I am quite new to Houdini and I want to ask a question, I want to make the sphere in my scene to move in the z direction as a fire, not just as a sphere.

This is what I do:

- put RBD ground plane

- put sphere

- change sphere into a RBD object

- put the pyro - flame effects

The thing is, weird enough that it sometimes work and other times it doesn't. And when it works, and then I close the file and when I want to continue my work, it doesn't work anymore. I always got this container box full of the yellow-ish color but the fire is no where to be found. I am a bit desperate now since I have been remake the scene over and over again for the fire simulation.

Please help!

Thank you!

post-8599-0-29096700-1365604842_thumb.pn

It may be a problem with your source, your resize settings, the fields being displayed . . . there are many possible causes - If you can post the .hip file, it would be easier for the friendy people on odforce to help you :)

Hi,

Oh yes, I am attaching my file here.

So the idea is that I want to have a fire shaped in a hand going through the pillars (with collision). But since I tried it with the hand model, it becomes so slow and I also cannot see the fire, only the white smoke around it, so I want to build the sim with the sphere first and then will replace it with the hand later when I have already get the fire as how I want it.

So in this file, it is only the sphere - fire with the pillars and i put one of the curve for the collision.

I hope someone can help me

Thank you!

bg.hipnc

I have now an updated file where in this file I tried to turn of the cache simulation at the DOP Node, and it seems that the fire shows but only if I am inside this DOP node.

and it works outside DOP if I hide my sphere node..

bg.hipnc

Edited by mo22

Hi

Your pyro container wasnt following properly the Sphere, see now that the container is tracking the sphere movement.