Advice on cloud scene

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new with Houdini, and I was wondering if I could get some advise on how to create this cloud effect.

http://cdn.londonist.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/london-mist-800x321.jpg

I've been playing around with the Off the shelf clouds but they not getting me the right look. Is it possible with the Off the shelf cloud tools? 

Thanks

If you create a cloud via the shelf tools, you basically lay down 3 assets :
- the first one convert your geometry into a volume
- the second add some position noise
- the third takes care of the lighting

What's interesting for you here is the noise. Even though it changes the global shape, it does not affect the density. It means that you probably ends up with a linear ramp of values between 0 and 1.

You want to add some noise to variate that. A volumeVOP might help where you modify the input density via some noise functions.
According to your ref picture, you're aiming for quite low density values, that means your render times will increase a lot and a search on the forum will bring you answer on how to control that.

Use a volume slice to check the density in your volume.

I'm not sure that using the cloudFX shelf tool is really helpful in your case. It is good to quickly create single beauty clouds but it don't think it is the most efficient way for the look you're after.

Edited by iamyog

If you create a cloud via the shelf tools, you basically lay down 3 assets :

- the first one convert your geometry into a volume

- the second add some position noise

- the third takes care of the lighting

What's interesting for you here is the noise. Even though it changes the global shape, it does not affect the density. It means that you probably ends up with a linear ramp of values between 0 and 1.

You want to add some noise to variate that. A volumeVOP might help where you modify the input density via some noise functions.