flipbook preview Flip cache

Chungz

Hi, I am new to houdini and still picking up some basic skill. 

So I might throw out some very silly or basic question.

I am using flipbook to do a preview of my flip simulation which is already being cached out. Each frame takes me around 2gb.

When I reimport the cache into my scene, even I have disable simulation, randomly select 1 frame takes me about 1-3 minutes to display my flip particles.

It take about 4 hours to make a flipbook preview of 150frames.

I wonder is that normal? 

Any suggestion that I might able to make a quicker preview, or nodes that I can reduce my particles count just for preview purposes? 

Thank you.

It will take same time or even more if you reduce particle count because it will load all the points from disk then reduce them. So reducing those will take extra cooking time.

You can use OpenGL ROP to destribute flipbook if you have more machines available. Or you can render points if you have render farm.

Thanks pbarua for your suggestion. 

However I have just a single machine to work on. So I assume that it's normal. 
As I recently added one extra hard drive to store my cache, I wonder is the hard drive causes the slow or it's normal for houdini to load in heavy cache files.

Also I wanted to ask this ask well. 

During my process of caching out simulation to bgeo files, sometimes the cache bar show it cached till eg. frame 90, but in my directory it delay for few frames and slowly update.

So sometime the cache process stay at the last frame for a while until the cache file updated in directory. 

Any ideas? 

Hi Chungz,

You can boost your loading performance by using a RAID system with multiple HD.

Another way to do quick preview is to not load/render each frame.

Edit: for your last question, it's probably time for writing bgeo on your HD. You can resync simulation/writing by unchecking "save in background" option, but your simulation time will be huge