Copying a line

Hi everyone! I just started learning houdini and I'm trying to copy a line and orient it along the points normals but I can't get it to work. I tried doing the same with a torus instead of a line and it worked fine using the "orient to Z" parameter. The line doesn't have the orient attrib. Any help will be appreciated. 

post-15604-0-70105100-1454696877_thumb.p

post-15604-0-11020300-1454696884_thumb.p

I can't. I got the information from a post a few months back. But basically the polyframe allows you to change normal orientation. It is very useful before a copy, especially when you need to generate UVs along a copy that is followed up by a skin.

Edited by Atom

Line primitive oriented along Y axis by default. Set the Direction parameter to 0 0 1. You also can pre-rotate it in Copy directly (disable "Transform Cumulative") or just by adding a Transform, rotating it by 90 degrees around X axis in both cases. There is handy Floating Gnomon on the vieport's corner. Copy does the orienting itself. It expects input geometry logically oriented along z-axis, which is common for such tools. Logical orienting is ambiguous, so, this is user's job to determine if the human heads needed to be face-forward or vertical-oriented when copying.

Copy builds custom spaces for each point, with axes x and y used as tangential directions and z as depth/up. And then just transform copies into that spaces. All orienting automatically computed by Copy internally for user's convenience. You may override it by providing custom N (vector direction only, arbitrary roll), up (will be used as constraint for roll, which will complete the orientation), orient (full orientation, quaternion), other common attributes (UP: full list). They are all partially or fully interchangeable. They can be computed in different ways with different results. As an example, PolyFrame uses several algorithms itself.