Mushroom Asset (feedback)

Hey magicians, 

I'm trying to make a mushroom asset just to practice, wanted to share to ask for some feedback.

Couple of questions:

1) Right now is kinda slow because of the resolution, is better to work on a slower mesh and at the final add a subdivide?, or maybe work with vdbs?

2) If I want to make for example, different kind of inner noise designs and have a dropdown, how do I do that? what should I pick in the parameter interface and how I link the end result of each design noise?

3) Right now the numbers on the parameters are kinda weird, should I start using fit range nodes on vops?

Here are some samples, this is my first try at modeling and making an asset so any advice on optimizing and make it better is more than welcome, still a work in progress, want to make adaptable to all kind of mushrooms (in a future I would like to animate a growth, should I be carring of that now? or at the end of having all the stuff?

Thanks to @konstantin magnus for the hip on how to make the gills

Shroom2.jpg

Shroom1.jpg

Thanks!

Mushroom_Asset.hip

Edited by caskal
  • Like 2

1)Yes absolutely add resolutions parameters.

2)It looks like you have already added the right parameters for noise in the OTL window.

3)Yes maybe add some fit range nodes, so you can modulate the noise from a simple range to read like (-1,1), but always leave these locks off (see screen shot), this way, if wanted, it will be possible to go over the range predefined.

Another thing you could add is a deformer to bend the overall mushroom: fecini.jpg

As you can see from the image not every mushroom is completely straight.

Screenshot_1.jpg

• Like 1