Missile launch in Houdini

angadrana

Hey guys,

I'm trying to make a missile go very fast in Houdini. I have a missile model and a sphere parented to it as the emitter. I'm using the Billowy smoke shelf tool. The problem is that when it goes fast, the smoke is in the shape of a sphere and far apart from each other :( . How can I make a really good looking smoke trail behind it with the smoke trail/ billowy smoke preset when it's going really fast?

I'm pretty new to Houdini. Can someone please help me?

Untitled.jpg

Try increasing the number of substeps of your simulation, on the DOP node itself. 

Don’t forget that a simulation works in « discrete » amount of time - the solver don’t « evaulate » your missile in between frames -, so if your missile goes too fast, you will only see isolated sources of smoke. That’s why you need to tell the solver to look also between frames : substeps are meant for that :-)

Given your image, try at least 4 substeps I would say (but you will increase simulation time by 4 :-)

If you want to know more about simulation, a great MOOC is here :

https://www.edx.org/course/animation-cgi-motion-columbiax-csmm-104x-2

4 hours ago, StepbyStepVFX said:

Try increasing the number of substeps of your simulation, on the DOP node itself. 

Don’t forget that a simulation works in « discrete » amount of time - the solver don’t « evaulate » your missile in between frames -, so if your missile goes too fast, you will only see isolated sources of smoke. That’s why you need to tell the solver to look also between frames : substeps are meant for that :-)

Given your image, try at least 4 substeps I would say (but you will increase simulation time by 4 :-)

If you want to know more about simulation, a great MOOC is here :

https://www.edx.org/course/animation-cgi-motion-columbiax-csmm-104x-2

That course is looks great! Have you done it already?

Cheers

Janis

7 hours ago, angadrana said:

Hey guys,