Render Question

i am new to houdini..

ok so when i turn off the micro-polygon render my shaders don't render.

and i am using some deflaut VEX shaders.,

and also.. is there a way to pre cook moving geometry to make it render faster?

thanks in advanced!

-Brandon

i am new to houdini..

ok so when i turn off the micro-polygon render my shaders don't render.

and i am using some deflaut VEX shaders.,

and also.. is there a way to pre cook  moving geometry to make it render faster?

thanks in advanced!

-Brandon

24129[/snapback]

Hello,

I just played with the scene using couple of generic VEX surface shader that came with Houdini and turned on the "turn off micro-polygon render". Everything seems to be rendering for me just fine... Perhaps you have not set the render flag (purple) in the shader sop to tell it to render that object?

If you are using Apprentice, I am afraid you won't be able to use Geometry ROP to bake out a sequence of geometry. Otherwise, you can use a File SOP to read in that sequence of geometry from disk after you've baked them out. you'd do something like this in the File SOP's field: /home/alex/myGeometry.$F.bgeo

Does this help?

Alex

Are you rendering a sequence of images? Is your geometry deforming? Even with default shaders, there could be many factors surrounding rendering speed. Some tips could be found in:

http://odforce.net/wiki/index.php/MantraOptimizations

The Lighting Tutorial here talks a bit about Interactive Photorealistic Rendering (IPR) which will speed up doing tweaks on a single image much faster:

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com...d=14&Itemid=132

Is there a .hipnc file you can post?

Are you rendering a sequence of images? Is your geometry deforming? Even with default shaders, there could be many factors surrounding rendering speed. Some tips could be found in:

http://odforce.net/wiki/index.php/MantraOptimizations