C++ Effects Programming ?

Hi,

I have been doing FX using Houdini for almost 1.5 year now, and I have over than 10 years of experience in C++ programming/algorithms. I am wondering what could be improved in Houdini Effects using C++? Is there any kind of effects that require more logic than just using simple VEX or Python scripts? 

I know there are many translators between Houdini/Arnold/etc. integration that could be written, but I am more interested in Effects programming, i.e. a program that would create hard to create effects using Houdini current built-in tools.

Any ideas are really appreciated :)

• Like 1

There is always room for improvements in FX department, although SESI builtin tools raise bar high enough. Nevertheless since product vendor has to provide tools for a wide audience, particular implementation of the tool might not fit one's needs. Typical scenario are FEM for character effects (secondary motion / tissue effects), techniques for cloth and hair effects, like cloth sim driven by rig animation, low scale / high detail SPH fluids , particles' meshing techniques (capable of handing slow motion), illumination caching for volumetric effects (still very slow for high res dense volumes), cg human all together - mocap / video driven face animation + photoreal texturing. Advanced destruction with good blend of material based approaches and artist friendly directibility. Ropes' physics! Add to the blend remeshing of dense geometry (with texturing!), render denoising, example based seamless textures in 2 and 3d, photogrammetry tools, volume upsampling, and you have your weekends busy for the rest of your life! :)

cheers!

ps It's not necessary to post the same post in two forum's sections! 

5 hours ago, catchyid said:

Hi,