Exporting Geometry With Baked Animation?

Netvudu

Hi everybody. First post here. I'm one of the lucky students at the brand new AT Houdini course in Spain and I'm making my best to learn this really really exciting tool, but I'm still quite new to it so please, bear with me.

Before Houdini I've been using Lightwave for about 10 years, and working with it for about 6, but I can already see the advantages on the new riggin tools at my disposal at the SideFX cool package. So, I want to rig and animate a model inside Houdini.

Because I'm so new to it I still will have to study hard in order to be able to get as much quality from my renders as I get from LW, so for the moment I would like to be able to export the baked animation into the character so that I can render from LW.

I've seen that Houdini allows exporting sequences of objs, but I have tried the "usual" solution for other packages which is exporting the animation baked into the vertices of the geometry and it feels really comfortable to work. (usually using "Point Oven"). How could I make the same thing from Houdini, this is, exporting the geometry with the baked animation?

I've been hinted to try the "Reaflow workaround", which would be exporting from houdini via the .sd format and then import it into LW. I have to try this because it could work perfectly but also wanted to know if there's another common solution for this.

Thanks for the help, and glad to be here B)

I've never looked at the MDD format. But I wonder how far one can push it by using a Geometry CHOP and then saving that data out. Possibly using Mark Story's File Out* CHOP for some output customization.

* http://www.digitalcinemaarts.com/dev/file_out/index.html

27967[/snapback]