Extracting Isosurface as Curves

Hi There,

I am trying to extract isosurface from a geometry as curves so that I can manipulate it in another software - Rhino -. I was wondering if there is any procedural way to do that as my geometry will be keep changing.

With my limited knowledge, I thought of trying to somehow convert the black areas into continuous - ideally closed - curves. But I am open to any other suggestion.

The only constraint for me is for these contours to be three dimensional and organic as in the crappy image below. In the multi-color image that would be equivalent to getting a boundary curve for each color.

I have also attached the houdini file

Thanks

Levent

isoCurves.thumb.jpg.b0f3990b52aec08b90f77fd8e7532778.jpgisoCurves.thumb.jpg.b0f3990b52aec08b90f77fd8e7532778.jpg

isosurfacetest.hiplc

isosurface.png

• 2 years later...

Hey @konstantin magnus, great solution for the contour lines. Thanks for sharing! I'm studying this exact subject and arrived at a similar place but through a different process. However, I have a question regarding this idea of extracting contour edges/lines from meshes and how to create faces from the contour lines.

So this is what I tried...On a high-res mesh box, I add a mountain sop and then I use a copy and transform sop connected to the initial box decreasing its scale and creating copies in a way that all copied and transformed boxes "cover" and slice the box with the mountain noise. After that, I use a boolean sop set to "seams" and the result I get is the contour lines.