Loading Houdini Python modules into Code Issues

CinnamonMetal

• 2 months later...
  • 5 months later...

Hi,

Im new to python, Im trying to use vscode as external editor but it really sucks at being intuitive for a beginner...

Im trying to add the hou.module so I can see the functions but Im getting this error:

The setting 'python.autoComplete.preloadModules' is deprecated, please consider using the new Language Server ('python.jediEnabled = false').

my settings.json looks like this:

{
    "python.pythonPath""C:\\PROGRA~1\\SIDEEF~1\\HOUDIN~1.287\\python27\\python.exe",
    "python.linting.pylintEnabled"false,
    "python.linting.enabled"true,
    "python.linting.flake8Enabled"true,
    "[python]":{},
    "python.jediEnabled"false,
    "python.autoComplete.extraPaths": [ "C:\Program Files\Side Effects Software\Houdini 18.0.287\houdini\python2.7libs\hou.pyc" ],
    "python.autoComplete.preloadModules": ["hou"]
}

Also wheeve I edit a .py Code tells me: Linter flake8 is not installed. And when I click Install is says: There is no Pip installer available in the selected environment. 

Im using:
Windows 10
Houdini 18
VS Code v 1.41.1
Python v 2.7.15 64-bit

Thanks, I overlooked that.

...it doesn't give me the error now, but it still doesn't recognise the hou.module classes :/ 
(Ive tried without the [ ] brackets too)

Im using:
Windows 10
Houdini 18
VS Code v 1.41.1
Python v 2.7.15 64-bit

Edited by makah21803

• 8 months later...
On 1/14/2020 at 12:29 AM, makah21803 said:

Thanks, I overlooked that.

...it doesn't give me the error now, but it still doesn't recognise the hou.module classes :/ 
(Ive tried without the [ ] brackets too)

Im using:
Windows 10
Houdini 18
VS Code v 1.41.1
Python v 2.7.15 64-bit

Any news?

• 2 weeks later...
"python.analysis.extraPaths": [
    "C:\\Program Files\\Side Effects Software\\Houdini 18.0.597\\houdini\\python2.7libs",
],

"terminal.integrated.env.windows": {