Dops Slow?

tuncay

Is it because I am new to houdini thus doesn't know the tricks yet or is the houdini dynamics system really slow? (Comparing to maya).

It seems to me that in default settings it's much more precise then Maya dynamic system. Yet it's very scalable so you can manage your setting to work on very complicated scenes. It can be much faster with some cheap settings. There are also many tricks to aid in performance issues. Please, note also, that Houdini interface interaction is generally speaking quite slower then other app's GUI.

Thanks for the reply SYmek. I think as you said Houdini default settings are a bit high. And I made the comparament in terms of the defaults.

About the interface. I think the houdini interface is not slower than other apps. There are slow part for example if there is a floating panel the interface may get real slow. Its use of overlay planes have some limitations about this I think. But generally its interface seemed really fast to me. ( with a fireGL T2 ) In maya working with hypershade for example is a pain. But Houdini shader related interfaces are as fast as other parts of Houdini.

When you say DOPs, do you mean the RBD Solver in particular? If so, you'll find that the RBD Solver is very efficient for highly detailed models, due to the (default) Volume representation. While its not terribly fast at simulating a brick wall, pour 2000 detailed Ford Cobras into a box and it'll surprise you. Also, are you on 8.1? If so, there a couple of speed increases to the regular polygon/polygon collision (Thin Plate) stuff I believe, along with the RDB AutoFreeze DOP too.