Using point deform

Ginz

Hello,

I'm new to Houdini and this is probably very simple. I have a simple scene file that was made with the Entagma vellum tutorial https://vimeo.com/294374382

How would I use point deform to apply the high-res pig head on to the low-res pig heads with the dopnet continuously emitting the pig heads?

Thanks guys!  

V_test_01.hiplc

• Like 1

Hey Martin,

Just one question.. I noticed that in the DOP Network node - Object Merge tab - Object - you added vellum*. After using your method myself that was the step that made it work. Do you mind letting me know why?

Thanks for your help on this! 

sure - that just changes the name filter for the output objects from * meaning "everything" to "anything starting with vellum". In this case it isolates the pig heads, because they are emitted into vellumobject1, just to get rid of the groundplane. You could achieve the same with a group and a blast or split sop for example.

Edited by nuki
  • Like 1

I think if you use the point deform capture from the QL lib, you could avoid using an expansive loop and run faster

It used an attribute to partition your geo so the capture weights and pts are generated accordingly.

After just use a regular point deform but in deform only.

Vincent Thomas   (VFX and Art since 1998)
Senior Env artist & Lighting & MattePainter & Creative Concepts

http://fr.linkedin.com/in/vincentthomas

• Like 3

Hey Vincent,

Thanks for the suggestion! I tried installing qLib on Houdini 18.0.460 but I'm getting a lot of errors. Is it just me or is it not compatible with the latest Houdini build?

Thanks

if you used the package method - I had trouble to get houdini to load the package until I set the QLIB variable in the .json file to an absolute path. Maybe its a Windows+OneDrive thing.

• Like 1

17 hours ago, nuki said: