How to control density with ramp, and ramp rotation?

xanter

Hi!

My goal is to have control over volume density with ramp that is 45degree rotated , so to have ability set higher density at areas near corner of the object.

I will upload scene file and screenshot , I was trying all day today but without success , I had managed what I wanted but it was done without ramp control , I need ramp control and ramp rotation ability.

If you can tell me how to do that without opening that file it is also greatly appreciated , I uploaded scene in case you want to look inside my beginner skills.. 

thank you in advance !

isoramp.jpg

test.hipnc

Edited by xanter

vex vex vex )))) hate it , I mean I'm sure something is possible to do in VOPs without going deeper into coding 

VOP has tons of nodes and ramp node but I can't and I'm fighting that goal all day today.

Thank you a lot for file anyway!

meanwhile , I will try VOPs again  ..  ph... my head is cracking by pieces. I'm new at H so not surprised I'm having a bad day with it ) 

Edited by xanter

You can do the same in VOP, it is only about the xyzdist() function, which is doing all the work in the background. The only thing is, that you need a second input curve. If interested, here is a VOP version.

Probably there simpler more straightforward solutions.

test_VOP_xyzdist.hipnc

Edited by Aizatulin
  • Like 1

any chance to do that without including additional object like line? I mean just with ramp node in VOPs and rotate it after custom ramp is done. (I need a custom ramp)

The thing is I want ramp over density control becasue it's not 100% gradient from 0 to 1 , I need 1 density till the center of a box and then from center to peak corner it increases to 2 lets say  

again thank you for help.