Is it possible to do something like that (in Houdini) ?

JCB

Hi,

I am new to Houdini and this forum.

Especially the Dynamics in Houdini are looking pretty cool (that's the reason why I am actually interested in Houdini) and I am asking me if its possible to do something like the picture shows. I always heard particle systems in Houdini are very powerful but I never saw much work in that area from the community.

I hope you guys will give me some information.

Best regards

Jacob

post-4003-1216645588_thumb.jpg

Actually, that's from Terminator Salvation trailer. And yeah that's all practical, i.e. a lot of gasoline, throw a match to it, booooom.

As for trying to figure this out, look for some reference on how explosions as hot as that work and build up from there, you need a lot of heat and temperature to start with that.

Thanks guys for your answers !

I dont wanna recreate exactly something like that. I wanna do something similar to this, but much smaller!

So, what do you recommend to start with? Are there any tutorials ? I already know some from sidefx, 3DBUZZ and

digital-tutors, but they are not really VFX based.

Best regards

Jacob

I don't think it's possible with the out of box toolkit in a pure technical sense (and not even considering budget and time constraints)..but that's just me. Someone could prove me wrong, if got a year worth of time on his hands :)

I don't think it's possible with the out of box toolkit in a pure technical sense (and not even considering budget and time constraints)..but that's just me. Someone could prove me wrong, if got a year worth of time on his hands :)

I dont wanna do something that big !!

I dont wanna do something that big !!

I think what Kodiak is trying to say is that an effect similar to that, big or small, will require a lot of R+D time.