Bubbles

Hello,

I've been trying to figure out how to simulate the behavior of bubbles when they come in contact with each other.

When bubbles come in contact, the surface of the sphere flattens out at an angle perpendicular to a line connecting the centroids/centers of the two spheres. Any thoughts on how to set something like that up?

I would think you could start by testing for the length between the centers of the spheres, and if the distance between the centers becomes less than the sum of their radii, the surfaces would begin to flatten where they contact. I would think deforming the surface by scaling down the magnitude of the surface normals would work, but I don't know how to deform an object this way. I'm still a novice as far as building tools like this goes, so please forgive my lack of understanding. Any hints or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve

Guest mantragora

There was an interesting technical paper regarding bubble creation by Pixar and Dreamworks presented at last Siggraph 2013

Is there a chance you got your own implementation of it? Could you share it?

Thank you for the replies! I saw a demonstration by Todd Akita of this done with ICE in XSI, and have wanted to figure out how to make it work in Houdini. His presentation notes are here if you're curious (http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/marks/todd-akitas-ice-design-tools-document).

It was was an example of what can be done through basic normal manipulation. Sort of like metaballs, except instead of pulling together the surfaces flatten out, when two spheres move into contact with each other. I'm just looking for a place to start.

@animation, that's it exactly.

@Skybar, thanks for the scene example. That's the correct end result, for some reason the caps aren't coming across when I look at it. Can this still work if the spheres move around? Or do they need to stay in one place?

@Mzigaid, you're absolutely correct :)